Top 10 Book Recommendations

Top 10 Book Recommendations

If you know me, you know that reading is one of my favorite things to do. I have always been a book worm, and much prefer reading over watching TV (except for when it comes to GoT and Handmaid’s Tale). In fact, on most nights and weekends you will find me curled up on the couch immersed in a good book. I’ve read over 50 books this year, and I’m well on my way to my yearly goal of 100. Since that’s my reading goal every year, I’m bound to come across some incredible books…as well as a few duds. So, in no particular order, I’m rounding up my top 10 book recommendations that you need to read ASAP. If you’re looking for some new reading material, I’ve got you covered!

My Top 10 Book Recommendations

1. My Lovely Wife. Hands down, this was one of the best books I’ve read so far! This thriller is a fast-paced page turner about a couple whose fifteen-year marriage has become a little too interesting, because they have decided to “keep the spark alive” by getting away with murder. Full of twists and turns that will surprise even the most seasoned readers, this is one book that you have to add to your collection!

2. The Hating Game. I love finding a good rom-com that is well-written, hilarious, and thoughtful–this book brought all of that and more. This is a workplace comedy that’s all about the thin, fine line between hate and love, and the two main characters realizing that they may not hate each other after all. If you’re looking for the perfect beach read, I would highly recommend this!

3. Find Her. I’m a total sucker for thrillers, and when I saw this book pop up on my kindle recommendations, I immediately bought it and I’m so glad I did.  This book is about a former kidnapping victim who has overcome her tragic past and has learned to live again. However, a shocking turn of events has her missing again, and it’s up to a local private investigator to find her before it’s too late. This was a page turner from beginning to end, and it left me breathless as my mind raced to put the pieces together.

4. Caraval (3 book series). Welcome to Caraval, where magic exists and dreams come true…but beware of getting swept away, because dangerous things can happen. This series is about two sisters who sneak off to visit Caraval, a place where magic and reality intertwine into a new dimension. But when one sister goes missing, it’s up to the other to play a dangerous game, solve the clues, and bring her back alive… before her sister disappears forever. The last book, Finale, just released this week, so I’m finishing up my re-read of the series before I dive in!

5. Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating. I laughed my a$$ off with this book! I always read the brief preview before I buy any book, and I knew that when I couldn’t stop laughing, I needed to have this in my collection. The main female character has so many quirky characteristics that you can’t help but fall in love with her, and her best friend-turned-non dating partner is the yin to her yang. No matter how many times things happen between them, they definitely aren’t dating each other. Pick this one up for a good summer beach read!

6. Finding Claire Fletcher. Can you tell I love thrillers? I honestly think that this is one of the best books on Kindle Unlimited. I find that there are a lot of misses with this subscription service, but I was so happy when I finished this gem. Presumed dead for the last 15 years, Claire Fletcher has been living her life under a pseudonym while still in the grip of her abductor. After a one-night stand with a detective and leaving one clue about her true identity, it sets him on the trail of a terrifying unsolved crime. But anyone who gets too close to Claire has a way of turning up dead, and it’s clear that finding Claire Fletcher is going to be as dangerous as it is deadly. You will race to finish this book, and will be thinking about it long after you’ve reached the end. Pick up now and thank me later.

7. Everless (2 book series). In a world where time is currency, blood bound to iron is the only way to add time to someone’s own lifespan. The rich tax the poor with blood irons, and can extend their lives by centuries. The heroine grew up poor, and experienced this injustice first-hand. However, she has a gift that gives her the power to change her fate, and the fate of time itself. This series is an intoxicating blend of secrets, romance, and haunting mythology that will leave you spellbound. I convinced my husband to read this series and he was obsessed! Definitely recommended for fans of Caraval (see above).

8. November 9. This was my third Colleen Hoover book, as well as my first read of 2019, and I knew that it was going to be a good year once I finished. This unforgettable love story spells the tail of two teenagers who met on November 9, on the eve of them moving to opposite ends of the country. However, they decide to meet up on the same day every year and see if their relationship grows into something more. Filled with heartbreaking twists and turns, this book left me feeling all the feels by the end, and I even shed a few tears (which is completely out of character for me).

9. One of Us is Lying. What happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive? If you pay close attention to these five characters, then you might be able to solve this mystery. But everyone has secrets, and what really matters is how far you’re willing to go to keep them hidden. Just when you think you’ve figured it out, another twist appears that has you re-thinking everything. This book is the perfect “who dun it” novel, as well as an easy, fast-paced read. You won’t be disappointed with this!

10. Lilac Girls. I’ve been recommending this book for years, and it will most likely be on my favorites list until the day I die. Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful story reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. Told from three different perspectives (a Polish girl imprisoned in a concentration camp; a Nazi woman doctor; and a New York socialite working at the French consulate), this novel will make you cry and marvel at the power of ultimate forgiveness and redemption. Recommended for fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See.

Like this post? Pin it for later!



1 thought on “Top 10 Book Recommendations”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: